Caramelized Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Balsamic

Ingredients:

About 1 pound of fresh Brussels
sprouts , trimmed and halved
4 strips Bacon, diced
1 medium onion, diced
1 TBSP butter
Salt and pepper, to taste
1/4 cup Balsamic vinegar
2 Tbsp. honey

Directions:
In a large sauté or frying pan heat a tablespoon of butter over medium-high heat.
Add in the chopped bacon and cook for five minutes. Stir in the chopped onions and cook until the bacon gets crispy and the onions are golden. Remove bacon and onions with a slotted spoon to a paper plate. Leave bacon and onion drippings in the pan.
Lay the halved brussels sprouts, cut side down, in the the same pan you sautéed the bacon and onions. Cook the Brussels sprouts over medium heat and place the lid over the pan. Let the sprouts cook, undisturbed, for six minutes before stirring to get a nice carmelization on sprouts.
Add the bacon and onions back into the skillet, stir and continue to cook the sprouts until fork tender. Season with salt and black pepper to taste.
Whisk the balsamic vinegar and honey together and drizzle over sprouts, stir to evenly coat and serve.

11 thoughts on “Caramelized Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Balsamic

  1. Absolutely right, Osyth! Roast or saute Brussels Sprouts is the only way to go. No or little water=no rotting cabbage smell or taste:)

    Like

  2. I’m extremely weird. I can devour sprouts in any form. I love them to the point of eating them cold (cooked) from the fridge like illicit sweeties. This though does look like a recipe for elevating them to giddying new heights. ON the list 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. So funny that we are on opposite ends of the scale for liking Brussels Sprouts but, both like this recipe. For you it enhances them, for me it mutes their overly strong flavor.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. None of my daughters would go near one until I started ‘stoving’ them. The method leaves them sweet and mild rather than bossy and pungent.

        Liked by 2 people

    1. Amen.. I don’t know if even caramelized and bacon shrouded would make me like them 😝
      They smell like a sour rag when cooked..
      But oddly enough I can eat them raw with or without dip..

      Liked by 1 person

      1. 😂 I have to concede to that, but Brussel sprouts ? Hmmm, still have reservations.. If I smelled it cooking I’d probably be spraying febreeze.. But if you made it, I might find the courage to tempt my gag reflex to try it 😄

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment